Short!

Well, I just did something I said I’d never do. I thought I’d never do it. I didn’t think I had it in me. It’s so… surprising. In fact, I crossed several lines. I exceeded boundaries. I guess… I dunno. I just never saw myself doing this.

i wrote a short story

There! I said it! -whew- Don’t get me wrong. I like short stories. I enjoy reading them, especially when I don’t have time for a full book, or more than a chapter of one. I love the way short story authors manage to cram so much enjoyment into so few words. Therein lies my conundrum.

I didn’t think I could POSSIBLY ever write anything in 10,000 words or less. This time I only had 8000 (!!) to work with and I DID IT! I told a COMPLETE story in seven thousand nine hundred ninety-nine words! One word LESS than 8000! WOW!! That’s not even the whole of it.

I wrote a mystery!!

That’s right! Matt the sci-fi author wrote a genuine whodunit MYSTERY! I didn’t think I had that in me either. I submitted it to Clarkesworld Magazine about ten minutes before I started this blog.

http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/

As of right now I don’t know if they’ll accept it or not. Either way, I WROTE A SHORT STORY!! If they don’t like it I’ll find someone who does. Heck! I’m so proud of it I’ll post it HERE if nowhere else.

Oh. Okay. Technical details. The story takes place in the universe of the League. It IS still sci-fi, it’s just a sci-fi mystery. And no, super-advanced tech is not used as a deus ex machina. The only thing tech really provides above and beyond what we can do today is absolute accuracy in forensic science (CSI League?). Abby (of NCIS) would love my swarm of thimble-sized evidence-gathering robots. The clues are there, the plot… works and it all fit within 8000 words! Wow!

I’ll keep you posted!

-matt

Standard

One thought on “Short!

Leave a Reply

