MathTools Update: I am PROUD of this!!

GlobeMap

I’m still working on Stone Blade #6 but I reached a point where I had to take a break. So, as usual, I turned to Java. I also accomplished something REALLY COOL that I’ve been working on a while. Globe-map graph paper! The image above is a PNG version of just the graph grid and I reduced it in size, but you get the idea.

Long story short, the SVG <path> tag ‘arc’ commands have always given me problems. I finally decided to prototype them in JavaScript so I could play with the parameters more easily. It worked and NOW I have a working globe-map generator!

Longitude and latitude are, by default, just like a regular printed globe: curved (arcs) and straight (lines) respectively. The generator allows this to be customized, though! You can change the number of divisions either way and make both (or NEITHER) scale(s) curved or straight! Needless to say I am VERY proud of this.

Clicking on the image above should enlarge it. If you’re interested in graph paper, creating your own customized graph paper, SVG, JavaScript or Java go to Sourceforge, download the software and play with it. Be sure to grab both the program (MathTools_yymmddhhmm.zip) and the ‘Tutorials.zip’ file. You’ll also need a way to render SVG into either PDF, PNG or JPEG but that is detailed in the Graph Paper tutorial. The tutorials are also a bit out-of-date but I’ll update them as I’m able.

For those interested in my software or books:

Matt’s MathTools: http://sourceforge.net/projects/mattsmathtools

Books:

http://moldyripegrape.wix.com/newstarstradeleague
http://amazon.com/author/jamescoxjr
https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/JamesMattCox

I’m also thinking about writing a series of posts about, well, writing. Both writing in general and science fiction in particular. These are a few things I’ve gathered along my journey. Any feedback on this will be greatly appreciated.

Ciao for now;

-matt

Standard

Leave a Reply

