Color, COLOR and Contrast

I received my (paperback) proof copy of my second (series) book today. If I do say so myself IT IS GREAT!!! My first (second) paperback suffered from a dark lack of contrast. Upon further review I discovered (re-discovered actually, I had forgotten) the difference between RGB and CMYK. The former is light-color and it looks good on computer screens. The latter is pigment (paper) color and it’s for, well, paper. Unfortunately the two don’t always play well together. RGB tends to lose a lot of subtle shading and detail when printed using CMYK.

I began searching desperately for a solution. Long-term followers of my blog may recall (new ones can scroll back) my quandary with the stock images CreateSpace yielded for my books. They were okay but they weren’t MINE. So, to forestall the boring images appearing on my Amazon page(s) I quickly learned Scribus in order to design the covers. Scribus is STILL a monster and I’ve only scratched its surface but, as a diligent academician I try to learn as I live.

The bullet point is this: Scribus has an option to convert RGB to a CMYK colorspace! All I had to do was look for it. It appears, conveniently, on the dialog used to export to PDF. The second-last tab is entitled ‘Color’ and that’s where the good stuff happens! The summary steps are:

  1. Design a cover in Scribus.
  2. SAVE THE FILE!!!
  3. Select ‘File -> Export -> Save as PDF’
  4. Click the ‘Color’ tab.
  5. Change ‘Output Intended For:’ from Screen/Web to Printer.
  6. Set any other options necessary. I left them at defaults ‘cuz I don’t know what they are. Yet!
  7. Type in the filename and click ‘Save’

That simple!

-matt

Standard

Leave a Reply

